

### SMOKE ALARM REQUEST FORM

Smoke alarms give early notification to individuals of a possible life-threatening fire emergency. For South Carolina residents, the Smoke Alarm Program provides life-saving smoke alarm technology.

Once qualified, an applicant's information is forwarded to his/her local fire department. The South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal will support the local fire department to fulfill the request.

#### Did you know?

- You should have a working smoke alarm on every level of your home, inside every sleeping area (to include the living room), and outside every sleeping area.
- A smoke alarm, the entire device, should be replaced every 10 years.
- Alarms with 10-year sealed batteries, lasting for the life of the alarm, are preferred. Otherwise, batteries should be changed once a year.
- Alarms should be checked monthly by pressing the test button.
- Consult FireSafe.SC.Gov for more information.

### **Qualifying Standards**

An interested applicant must be a permanent resident of South Carolina.

Acceptable forms of identification to establish residency

- Current <u>South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle's Driver's License</u> (SCDL)
- Current South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle's Identification Card (SCID)
- Current <u>SC Voter's Registration Card (</u>SCVRC)

Right to Fair Treatment: The South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal will not discriminate against an individual because of color, race, sex, age, national origin, religion, marital status, political beliefs, or disability.

Privacy Notice: South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal follows the privacy practices of section 30-4-40 (a) (2) of the SC Code of Laws Ann. (1978 as amended).



# Alarm Program 803.896.9825 | FIRESAFESC@LLR.SC.GOV

### SMOKE ALARM REQUEST FORM

## Applicant

Name: First		liddle		
Email:	Date of Birth:		Phone:	
Physical Address:			City:	
		State:	Zip:	_County:
Signature:				_ Date:
Tell us about your home:				*check all that apply*
Number of Bedrooms:	Stories or Levels:	Structure Type:	Ownership:	Is anyone in the home:
1	1	Single Family Dwelling	Rental property	Under 5 yrs old
2	2	Mobile Home	Owner-occupied	Age 65 or older
3	2	Duplex		Have a disability
4	3	Apartment		A veteran, military member, or military family member
5		Other		minitary family member
6 or more bedrooms		Ollier		
	Questions	or to remit applicati	ons	

South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal Attn: Community Risk Reduction Team 141 Monticello Trail Columbia, SC 29203 Phone: 803-896-9825 FAX: 803-896-9806 Email: FireSafeSC@llr.sc.gov

Internal SC OSFM Use Only	□Approved □Denied	
Date of Receipt:	_ Processed by:	
Fire Department:	_ Chief:	Phone:

**Right to Fair Treatment**: The South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal will not discriminate against an individual because of color, race, sex, age, national origin, religion, marital status, political beliefs, or disability.

Privacy Notice: South Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal follows the privacy practices of section 30-4-40 (a) (2) of the SC Code of Laws Ann. (1978 as amended).